Time to wrap things up

 photo epilogue_zps612bab5f.jpg
Normally people write this at the beginning of a blog. For me, I find it more appropriate to write it at the end.
This blog was started as a personal challenge. One of my weakness is writing and expressing my thoughts. I never did well for essay writing back in school and I often admire people who can express themselves in writing. One day, I decided to challenge myself and see if I can overcome my problem. My English grammer is not perfect, I am sure all the grammer Nazis out there will find lots of mistakes to condemn me to the gas chambers.
To start a blog, I had two problems.
First was the frequency. How often? Once a week, once a month, once in a blue moon? For a start, I chose once a week and see if I can stick to it. With the exception of a few times when I was overseas, I managed to stick to the frequency. It takes a lot of discipline to churn out something week after week.
Second was the topic. What to write. Answer is simple. It can be anything under the sun. But I chose something related to my hobby, about transport and Bigbus Weblog started.
I did not announce to the world or tell any of my friends about this blog. I let internet do the job. With zillions of blogs out there, I like to see how many visitors came to visit this blog as time went by. At first, one or two, then tens, then hundreds. Now the average is 1000 plus per month. Not bad considering that there was no “advertisements” done by me. It also demonstrate the power of internet search engines. A lot of the visitors found it through internet searches.
This blog was started in June 2008. After a run of about six and a half years, it is time to wind down. I have achieved what I had set out to do. This does not meant the end, I will not be updating so often. I would like to spend my time on other things and take up other challenges.

3 Responses to “Time to wrap things up”

  1. stochasticcognitions Says:

    Thank you for your blog. I am not a bus enthusiast like you, but I am a history buff and have always liked your posts about the old bus terminals around Singapore and the early bus services. I am amazed at your depth of knowledge and I think you can take considerable pride in what you have achieved from what started out as a personal challenge. Once again, thanks and I look forward to reading more posts from you as and when.

  2. Raku Says:

    I’ll be sorry to see you go. Really looked foward to your blog posts every week. Thanks for all the effort!

  3. 123ABC Says:

    Oh my..do you have to go… anyway thanks for the memories!
    Hope to see you ‘up and running’ again..

Leave a Reply

